Burwood History Articles

World first for Burwood

World first for Burwood

In 1961 the NSW Conveyancing (Strata Titles) Act came into force, establishing Strata Title for apartment lots for the first time in the world. The first strata titled apartment block...

Woodstock

The four acres land Woodstock stands on was bought by Edwin T. Penfold in January 1871 for £450. Soon after purchasing the land in Church Street the Penfolds began building...
The History of Brundah – Enfield’s oldest house.

The History of Brundah – Enfield’s oldest house

This Victorian House ‘Brundah’ seems to have been buiilt between 1883 and 1886. It stands in a very prominent position on Liverpool Road and the site contains three historic buildings...
Bath Arms Hotel

The Bath Arms Inn

The original Bath Arms Inn built in 1835. It stood on the corner of Parramatta Road and Burwood Road and was demolished in the 1920’s being replaced with the current...

History of Burwood Park

Burwood was land of the Wangal people, however the area became known as Burwood after Captain Thomas Rowley named his 1799 land grant Burwood, after Burwood Farm on which he...

Burwood Park: home of the birds

Originally known as Edrop’s Bush or Edrop’s Paddock, 15 acres of land on Burwood Road was resumed as a park in October 1882. The land was described in 1855 by...

Bath Arms Hotel

Article on the Bath Arms Hotel​ Article on the Bath Arms Hotel, 352-354 Parramatta Road, Burwood (corner Parramatta Road and Burwood Road) Along Parramatta Road during the 1820s and 1830s...

Appian Way Burwood article for The Inner West Courier

Appian Way Burwood article for The Inner West Courier (information predominantly from a paper by Phillip Clements) This unique precinct was conceived as a model housing estate. Businessman George Hoskins...